Today my Dad would be 93 years old.  He was born in Tubac, Arizona, on a little homestead in 1915.  He went to school and was the first in his family to go to college.  His father, born in Mexico, told his children to learn English and get an education.  My Dad did so, and that enabled him to build a career which provided well for my Mom, Aggie, and seven children.  Though my grandparents were citizens, they were born in Mexico, and my dad was a first-generation-born-in-the-US-citizen.  He learned the value of hard work, and he lived the Faith which was handed down to him by his parents and which sustained him into his old age.  Dad loved God, he loved my Mom, he loved all of his children and grandchildren, and he loved people in general.  He was a conservationist (not to be confused with modern environmentalist).  Dad died after the turn of the new millenium on March 14, surrounded by Mom and his children.  He is sorely missed. 

My sister Marie was the first of 7 children born to my parents.  She is many things to many people, but to me she is my big sis and dear confidant.  Marie and I have shared many moments and memories throughout the years, both in good times and in bad.  Today she will be celebrated by family and friends in Tucson.  Wish I could be there to celebrate the “Matriarch” of our family, who inherited the title at the passing of our mother last July.

 

