Education is much more than book-learning.  We experienced a wonderful weekend of learning with our children and grandchildren.  It was a weekend steeped in family pride–pride in the roots from which we came.   (I should say, roots from which they came, because I don’t have any Scottish/Gaelic blood in my veins.  But I have adopted my husband’s clan as my own).   Homeschooling does not only take place in the home.  For 2 1/2 days, our grandchildren learned about different aspects of Scottish/Gaelic culture at the Highland Festival in Estes Park.  They marched with our clan and dozens of others to the music of bagpipes and drums.  They competed in Irish dance.  Most important, they saw that they are part of something bigger than themselves.  Family, clan, nation.  All were on display and there was pride in all.  For though these Scotsmen wear their tartans proudly, they don’t forget that they are Americans, and there were lots of flags and patriotism evident.

 

