You may have heard that we are in for some change in the text of the Mass.  A bit of the more formal language of the past is making a comeback, not because we are reverting to Pre-Vatican II times, but because in the haste to translate the prayers for the Mass of Pope Paul VI, some of the actual meaning of the prayers was lost.  I will not venture a guess as to why.

Some examples:

“The Lord be with you.”  Response:  And with your spirit.

The Confiteor will go like this:

I confess to almighty God
and to you, my brothers and sisters,
that I have greatly sinned
in my thoughts and in my words,
in what I have done
and in what I have failed to do,
through my fault, through my fault,
through my most grievous fault;
therefore
I ask blessed Mary ever-Virgin,
all the Angels and Saints,
and you, my brothers and sisters,
to pray for me to the Lord our God.

For more examples check out the Bishops’ website.  This change is on its way to being approved.

