This morning as I was cleaning up the breakfast dishes, I glanced out the window and saw a turkey coming around the corner.  On its heels was another, then another, and finally a fourth one.  I have never seen a wild turkey in Black Forest so I was pretty excited.  They didn’t stop to  feed, but rather kept marching on as if they had a destination in mind.

They continued forward to the end of the corral where they found themselves trapped in a corner

For several seconds they rammed the fence with their heads (they are good candidates for the Darwin award).  As I approached with my camera, they started to panic and literally were ramming the fence harder and running in circles trying to get away.  Then it dawned on the Alpha that wings were made for flying, and three of these flightless birds found enough internal resources to fly over the fence.  The fourth continued ramming its head into the fence until at the moment it thought it was lost, it discovered its own wings and flew away.

I ponder why seeing these birds was so exciting, and I am so grateful for the sense of wonder God has given us.  I am so thankful for the variety and beauty of nature all around us.  Last night it was four deer right outside our kitchen window, today it was four turkeys.  I can’t wait to see what tomorrow brings.

